A small, hand-built, artisan distillery nestled amongst the foothills of the beautiful Cairngorm Mountains, still hand distilling in time-honoured traditions and widely acknowledged to be amongst the prettiest of all Scotland’s distilleries
Originally a barley mill and croft dating back to the 1700's, it closed in 1965 and over the next 25 years it was slowly and lovingly converted into a single malt distillery, which then started producing spirit in 1990.
The distillery draws it’s water from the Spey River tributary -The River Tromie still using the old mill lade, which originally ran the waterwheel that powered the old mill.
The distillery itself was hand-built by a stone mason Alex Fairlie and the full production is housed under one roof.
The distillery is also known as ‘Lagganmore’ from BBC TV’s Monarch of the Glen series.
Harvey’s of Edinburgh and SPEY whisky have a long and unique history stretching back to 1770, throughout the prohibition era all the way to the present day.
In 1770, John & Robert Harvey began their Whisky journey by firstly founding Yorker distillery then subsequently Dundashill and Bruichladdich distilleries.
Lord Byron, in celebration of his wedding in 1815 sent gifts to his wedding guests including King George III, a cask of scotch whisky thought to be SPEY Single Malt.